Volunteer of the Week: #1

March 29, 2009

I did a story a couple days ago on a CEC teacher who is traveling to Macedonia this summer to build homes for Habitat For Humanity and a local Chinese restaurant helped her out with the fund-raising. She sent me a thank-you note today: Thank you for doing the Habitat for Humanity article. The fundraiser at the King Lam was a huge success. I’ll have to give you an update on how the build went when I get back in August. -Suzanne

That made me feel pretty good. Made me feel like something I wrote was actually helping someone. And that’s a special feeling. 🙂

I will be taking over Volunteer of the Week for the Truro Daily News for the next 3 weeks. Here was this week’s.

* * * * *

The joy of working with animals

Animals big, animals small. Whitney McDonald loves them all. McDonald, a 20-year-old Brookfield resident, has been spending her extra time taking care of pets at the Colchester SPCA in Truro since January.
“I just enjoy being around pets,” said the pre-vet student at the Nova Scotia Agricultural College in Bible Hill.
“So this gives me experience with small animals.”
McDonald has wanted to be a vet since she was about seven years old.
“I’ve always been more interested in animals than humans.”
She loves all types of animals but she is especially fond of horses. “I just think they’re gorgeous and fun to ride,” she explained.
McDonald’s volunteering resumé isn’t limited to just working with animals. “A few years ago, I helped out with dinners and stuff at the legion in Truro,” she said.
The former South Colchester Academy student also served on student police, dance committee and Safe Grad in high school.
Some of McDonald’s friends help out with animals in their free time, too. “They do at different places,” she said. “One of my friends volunteers at the NSAC barns.”
However, she said she wishes more young people would volunteer, particularly with animals in need. “They need to understand that animals go through hardships.”
After graduation, McDonald would like to set up a vet practice in Colchester County.

Leave a Reply

